If you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct in the state of Minnesota, you’re not alone. Because the disorderly conduct law broadly encompasses many types of behavior, it’s a relatively common charge.
According to Minnesota statutes, you can be charged with disorderly conduct for:
- Brawling or fighting
- Behavior or language that is unruly, offensive, obscene, abusive or severe enough to anger, alarm or cause resentment in other people
- Disrupting a lawful meeting or assembly
The above disorderly conduct charges are considered misdemeanors; penalties include a maximum of ninety days in jail, a fine of no more than $1,000, or both. An exception is made for anyone whose disorderly conduct is due to an epileptic seizure.
A separate subdivision of this statute addresses more stringent penalties for caregivers, defined as a person or facility responsible for the care of a vulnerable adult over the age of eighteen. Caregiver disorderly conduct is classified as a gross misdemeanor, and penalties include imprisonment for up to one year, fines of up to $3,000, or both.
You can be charged with disorderly conduct for a wide range of offenses, from having a noisy party that disturbs others or loud arguments in public to fights involving alcohol or domestic assault, as well as others. Such charges are often coupled with more serious charges – prosecutors may then offer to drop the higher offenses if the accused pleads guilty to the lesser disorderly conduct charge.
If you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct, contact us. Your best defense is a strong criminal defense attorney who can build a solid case tailored to your particular situation and charges. We’ll work hard on your behalf to get your charges dismissed or reduced.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Please contact attorney Kirk Anderson for an initial consultation.