Minnesota DWI Lawyer
Having more than one or two drinks and getting behind the wheel of your car is a criminal offense. The legal driving limit is .08 which often equates to one or two standard drinks in an individual. If you have been pulled over and have tested positive to a DWI, then you could be charged with a criminal conviction that remains on your record. Even if this is the first time you have been charged with a DWI, you could still be facing prison time.
DWI Arrests and Convictions
If you have been accused of a DWI then you could be looking at more than just a loss of license. The severity of your DWI conviction will depend on the circumstances surrounding your arrest which are known as aggravating factors.
Aggravating Factors include:
- A previous DWI conviction within the past 10 years
- A BAC of higher than .20
- Driving with a child under the age of 16 during the time of the arrest
Degrees of DWI Offenses
- 1st degree DWI – Three prior DWI convictions or qualified driver’s license revocations within 10 years of the time of the arrest. Can result in 7 years in prison and $14,000 in fines
- 2nd degree DWI – Two or more aggravating factors present at the time of the arrest. Can result in up to one year in prison and $3000 in fines
- 3rd degree DWI – One aggravating factor present at the time of the arrest. Can result in up to one year in prison and $3000 in fines
- 4th degree DWI – No aggravating factors present at the time of the arrest. Can result in 90 days in prison and $1000 in fines
License Suspension and Plate Impoundment
- Immediate license suspension – you could also lose your license as soon as you have been arrested and tested positive for a DWI. You could lose your license from 90 days to 120 days depending on your criminal driving history. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test, then you could be faced with a loss of license for an entire year.
- Plate Impoundment – you could risk having your plates forfeited to the state if you have been charged with a 3rd degree DWI or higher
- Vehicle forfeiture – you may also be at risk at losing your car permanently if you have had three or more DWI’s in a ten year period
The laws surrounding DWI crimes are strict. There have been too many deaths caused by drinking while driving and reckless driving and because of this, Minnesota law is cracking down. There are more officers on the roads performing random breath tests. Even having an extra glass of wine with dinner can result in a conviction.
Contact Anderson Law Firm Today For A Free Consultation
However, there are ways to fight an arrest. Faulty testing is one of the most common defense tactics to take but there are other strategies to consider. Furthermore, you may be able to get off with a reduced sentence if this is your first time in trouble with the law and with the right Minnesota DWI lawyer defending you.
Don’t let this criminal accusation cost you your life. Call the Anderson Law Firm 24/7 at 952-582-2904 for your free consultation with a Minnesota DWI lawyer.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Please contact attorney Kirk Anderson for an initial consultation.