Minnesota is, fortunately, one state that allows some drivers who have had their drivers’ license suspended to obtain a limited license which enables them to drive during their suspension period. Not everybody is eligible for a limited license and these licenses come with restrictions that must be strictly followed.
Drivers who have had their license suspended for violations that include DUI, failure to maintain car insurance, or refusal to submit to a breathalyzer test may be eligible to apply to Driver and Vehicle Services in Minnesota for a limited driver’s license or “work permit’.
The law allows, under some circumstances, the approval of these types of licenses so that individuals are still able to get back and forth to work or school with minimal disruption. Those who are responsible for the care of minor children may also be eligible provided they show proof that not being able to drive would seriously impact the education of those children.
If you have previously received a work permit under previous license suspension, you are not eligible for another one. Anyone convicted of criminal vehicular homicide or found guilty of a crime involving serious personal injury by way of a motor vehicle, they also are not eligible for a work permit.
Limited licenses come with restrictions, otherwise, what would be the point? You lost your driving privileges for a reason. It would not make sense to then allow a suspended driver to drive whenever and wherever they wanted during the said suspension.
DVS (or the court) will place limitations on an individual’s limited license. They may only be permitted to drive to and from work and/or school. Limitations may include a stipulation that they can only drive between certain hours of the day. Almost always, these licenses restrict the type of vehicle that can be driven. For example, it would not include vehicles that typically require a commercial driver’s license to operate.
The work permit is only valid for 90 days.
Anyone seeking a limited license must first determine if they are eligible under the law to apply for such a license. The specifics of who can apply are laid out in the Minnesota law dealing with limited licenses.
Once you have determined you are eligible, you must wait a minimum of 15 days before applying to DVS for the license. In some instances, the waiting period may be longer. For example, minors will need to wait a minimum of 90 days under the law and those convicted of failure to stop or with a felony must wait 60 days.
The correct forms must be completed and any additional documentation required by the courts or Driver and Vehicle Services must be secured. Drivers may be required to show proof of insurance coverage and participation in a substance abuse program to be approved.
A reinstatement fee and yearly renewal fee must be paid. The reinstatement fee for DUI and criminal vehicular operation is currently $680.00.
The suspended driver must also meet with a DVS evaluator prior to the approval of the license.
Once your license has been permanently reinstated after the suspension period, your new, permanent license will be mailed to you. It is not necessary to contact anyone or pay any additional money to obtain your reinstated license.
If you or a loved one are facing criminal charges or a charge for DUI, call the Anderson Law Firm to schedule a consultation right away. We have assisted hundreds of Minneapolis area clients with both criminal and serious motor vehicle-related violations. This is not the case where you want to “go it alone”. It is critical that you have someone working with you and for you who knows Minnesota law and someone who is going to fight for you.
Call us today and find out how we can help.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Please contact attorney Kirk Anderson for an initial consultation.