Minneapolis & St. Paul Weapons Charges Lawyer
Any criminal charge that involves a firearm or weapon of any kind is taken very seriously in Minnesota. If you are facing a weapons or gun charge, you are most likely worried about what the future holds and what will happen when you go to court to stand before a judge.
You don’t have to face the charges alone. With the help of an experienced Minnesota criminal defense attorney, you can ensure your rights are protected and that you can navigate the legal process in the smoothest way possible. You are innocent until proven guilty and we make sure you are treated as such.
Challenging Misdemeanor Weapons Charges
There are a number of weapons offenses that are charged as misdemeanors. The sentences for these crimes are fines up to $1,000 and 90 days in jail. These offenses can include:
- Carelessly handling a gun, explosive, or another dangerous weapon to endanger the safety of another person
- Purposely pointing a loaded or unloaded gun at another person
- The selling or manufacturing of a slingshot
- Transferring, possessing, or manufacturing a switch blade or metal knuckles
- Possessing a dangerous object or substance for the purpose of using it as a weapon
If the offense is committed on school grounds, in a public housing zone, or a park, then the charge can be enhanced to a gross misdemeanor and this results in $3,000 in fines and one year in prison.
Effective Defense Against Felony Weapons Charges In Minnesota
Your lawyer will stand by you through every step of your case. Although you may initially be charged with a felony weapons offense doesn’t mean that that will be the outcome.
There are two types of felony weapons charges that include: selling or possessing a sound muffler or firearm silencer and recklessly discharging a firearm within city limits. The maximum penalties are $5,000 in fines and up to two years in prison. The charges can be aggravated if the crime is committed on school property on a public housing property, or in a park. The enhanced penalties are $10,000 in fines and up to 5 years in prison. This same sentence applies to situations when a firearm is intentionally discharged in a situation that endangers the safety of another person.
Drive by shootings are also felonies because it involves firing a weapon from a vehicle and can also be charged if you exit the vehicle. The law says that if you recklessly discharge a firearm at a building or another vehicle while in a vehicle or after exiting a motor vehicle, you can be charged with a felony and sentenced up to 3 years in prison and pay up to $6,000 in fines. The charge is aggravated when the firearm is discharged at a vehicle or building that is occupied. The sentence may be up to 10 years in prison and $20,000 in fines.
Contact A Minnesota Criminal Defense Lawyer
Weapons charges are taken very seriously. You may be someone with a previous criminal offense that prohibits you from owning or even handling firearms or you may have been accused of a crime involving a weapon. Despite the charge, you deserve to have your rights defended and representation that strives to achieve the best possible outcome for you. To learn more, call the Anderson Law Firm, PLLC at 952-582-2904 for a free consultation.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Please contact attorney Kirk Anderson for an initial consultation.