If you have been charged with assault in the first degree in Minnesota, you are facing penalties associated with violent crime. Each level of assault comes with a different punishment, and the most serious is first-degree assault. If you are charged with a violent offense, you may be facing a penalty of 10 to 20 years in prison. Understanding your charges in a situation like this is essential.
In determining whether an individual will be charged with first-degree or second-degree assault, courts will consider the type of harm the victim experienced. When the victim sustains severe injuries, you may be charged with assault in the first degree.
Minnesota’s statute 609.066 details the level of force required to determine that an incident qualifies as first-degree assault. According to the law, committing an action that may result in death or severe injury is enough to warrant the charges. If a reasonable person would understand that the action has potential to cause grave injury or death, first-degree assault charges may be the result. Examples of such cases involve firing a gun at a person or occupied vehicle.
There are other cases in which you can expect to face first-degree charges. An individual who makes an attempt to use deadly force against those like police officers, judges, prosecutors, or jailers may also face this charge. Even if no injuries actually occur, the charges apply.
In addition to spending time in prison, first-degree assault often comes with fines amounting to $30,000. This is why it is essential to hire an attorney who stands by you in court. If you still have questions about first-degree assault, contact us to learn more about your options.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Please contact attorney Kirk Anderson for an initial consultation.